Grand Prix Turn Racing iRacing Series Race Preview: Jerez

The Grand Prix Turn Racing iRacing Series continues with its second round of the 2023 campaign at Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto. The action kicks off at 19:00 GMT (3PM ET) and will stream live across iRacing social media channels.

Last Race: Florian Lebigre survived not only a chaotic first lap, but also differing pit strategies, to win his first career series race last week at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps. Lebigre led eight of the race’s 23 laps in total, first taking control from Xavi Ros on Lap 9 before undercutting Ros and Marcos Nuñez with an earlier pit stop. He’d hang on ahead of a hard-charging Gaël Valero in the closing laps to win by just .599 seconds.

Last Season: Jerez is the first of six tracks that weren’t on the 2021 calendar to show up this season, a reflection of the many additions made to the iRacing service since the last time the Dallara iR-01 was in use at the pro level. The track debuted as part of the 2023 Season 2 launch in March.

Track Facts: Opened in December 1985, at Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto has an extensive history of hosting major international racing series. While its most prominent current events are motorcycle races, the track played host to both the Spanish and European Grands Prix in the 1980s and 90s, and was used extensively by top teams for winter testing in the following decades. The circuit measures in at 2.751 miles (4.428 km), with multiple long straightaways heading into heavy braking corners.

Next Up: For the first time in series history, the Grand Prix Turn Racing iRacing Series will take on an oval when it heads to Texas Motor Speedway on Thursday, September 28. The 1.5-mile tri-oval opened in 1997 and has hosted real-world open-wheel racing ever since, where drivers reach some of the fastest speeds in the sport. Its addition reflects the addition of an oval racing package for the iR-01, which debuted earlier this year.

For more information on the Grand Prix Turn Racing iRacing Series, visit For more information on Turn Racing, visit For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit