eNASCAR College iRacing Series Race Preview: Charlotte

The eNASCAR College iRacing Series Powered by NACE Starleague heads to Charlotte Motor Speedway for the second race on the 2023-24 academic calendar. It’s the first time this year that the competitors will utilize the NASCAR Craftsman Trucks, having used the NASCAR Xfinity Series cars last month at Daytona. 90 laps are scheduled and scholarship awards are up for grabs to the highest finishers.

The race will stream live on Tuesday at 8PM ET on eNASCAR.com/live and across iRacing social media channels. Simultaneously, the 100-lap eNASCAR Contender iRacing Series at Homestead-Miami Speedway will be running at the same time. The broadcast will check in on that event as well throughout the evening.

About the Series: The eNASCAR College iRacing Series gives college students from the United States and Canada the opportunity to compete for their share of $60,000 in scholarships. Using machines from the NASCAR Xfinity Series or NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series, 40 drivers qualify for the event by registering here and posting their fastest lap times in a two-week Time Attack through the iRacing UI. With hundreds of colleges and universities represented in each Time Attack and only one representative per school, drivers are competing not only against the greater iRacing community, but also their own classmates, for a spot on the prestigious grid.

Last Race: Daniel Faulkingham put the University of Maine at Machias in the winner’s circle back in September, but just barely over St. Charles Community College student Anthony Burroughs. The two were the only two to escape the chaos on the final lap, and it became a drag race mixed with a game of chicken all the way from Turn 2 to the line. Off of Turn 4, Faulkingham utilized the momentum and held on for his first win in the series.

Last Season: The last time that the eNASCAR College iRacing Series visited Charlotte Motor Speedway, it was on the 2.28-mile, 16-corner purpose-built infield road course dubbed the Roval back in Fall 2022. University of Iowa’s Steven Wilson dominated that one. Prior to that, the same combination of the oval track and trucks that will also be run on Tuesday was run in Spring 2022. That race was won by Rutgers University’s Daniel Buttafuoco, taking the win away from University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s Oumar Diallo with only a handful of laps to go.

Track Info: Charlotte Motor Speedway is dubbed “America’s Home For Racing.” The famed 1.5-mile D-shaped oval based in Concord, NC opened in 1960 and has managed a lot of firsts in the NASCAR community over the years, including the installation of night lighting and the opening and utilization of the infield Roval. It all stems from the fact that the track is located right around the majority of NASCAR teams and their race shops in the state.

Entry List: The following 40 drivers have qualified for tonight’s eNASCAR College iRacing Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway:





RP Allen
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Liberty University

Reece Baham
Richmond, VA

Auburn University

Aaron Mulrooney Jr
Fairlawn, Ohio

Kent State University

Drew Jewah
Woodstock, Georgia

Chattahoochee Technical College

Abraham E Vela
Houston, Texas

San Jacinto College

Layne Graves
McPherson, Kansas

Wichita State University

Colton Salek
Tampa, Florida

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Daytona Beach

Steven Wilson
Iowa City, IA

University of Iowa

John Forbes3
Rancho Santa Margarita, California

Saddleback College

Garrett Viton
Medina, OH

Arizona State University

Corbin MacAulay
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Holland College

Brandon Shulenberger
Monroe, North Carolina

Wingate University

Austin G Johnson
Fresno, California

California State University Fresno

Oumar Diallo
Brooklyn , NEW YORK

Milwaukee Area Technical College

Francisco J Villarreal
Weslaco, Texas

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Tyler Garey
Royal Palm Beach, Florida

Palm Beach State College

Elliot White
Santa Barbara, California

University of Maryland College Park

Kaleb Bryan
Rolla, Missouri

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Daniel Nanney
Clinton Township, Michigan

Macomb Community College

Matthew L Morton
Pickerington, Ohio

Ohio State University at Newark

Charles Wimbley
Brooklyn, New York
Guilford College

Braden Muhvic
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Logan Clampitt
Trabuco Canyon, California

California State University Fullerton

Alexander Heider
St. Augustine, Florida

St. Johns River State College

Garrett Lowe
Gastonia, North Carolina

University of North Carolina – Charlotte

Chris Treppa
Warren, Michigan

Lawrence Technological University

Jack Coyne
Warren, NJ

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Arron Brown
Nelsonia, Virginia

Eastern Shore Community College

Nate S Stewart
Hopkinsville, Kentucky

Hopkinsville Community College

Coleson Phelps
Vinton, Iowa

Iowa State University

Douglas Newbigging2
Trucksville, PA
King’s College

Christian Charbonneau
Chesterfield, VA

Dallas Baptist University

Jose Solis Jr
East Hatford, CT

Manchester Community College

Jason Walat
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Drexel University

James Scioly
Spokane, Washington

Eastern Washington University

Austin Farr
Lomita, California
Liberty University

JT Poole
Gulfport, Mississippi

Mississippi State University

Austin Green7
Melbourne, Florida

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Daytona Beach

Jake Hall3
Spartanburg, South Carolina

Clemson University

Mario Merenda
Tulsa, Oklahoma

University of Oklahoma

The eNASCAR College iRacing Series Powered by NACE Starleague is supported by Coca-Cola, Logitech G, and DBOX. For more information on the series and how to compete, visit https://playfly.com/enascar-college-iracing-series/. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.